Month: August 2019


List of IMO Conventions and Codes with their current status and amendments

The majority of IMO Conventions adopted by IMO or for which the Organization is otherwise responsible, fall into three main categories. The first group is concerned with maritime safety; the second with the prevention of marine pollution; and the third with liability and compensation, especially in relation to damage caused by pollution.  Outside these major …

List of IMO Conventions and Codes with their current status and amendments Read More »


Container Lashing System

Container Lashing Diagram Types of Container Lashing System Conventional System: Stacking cones, Turnbuckle, Wires and Rods Twist Lock System: Base, Intermediate, Angled twist locks Transversal Lashing System: Tension & Compression type lashing Cellular System: Cell Guides Deck Fittings Item No. 2: Flush deck fitting, flush deck insert, flush foundation, circular foundation, stud bushing with plugging …

Container Lashing System Read More »


International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS), 1974 in Nutshell

The Convention for Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS), is an international maritime treaty that requires signatory flag states to ensure that flagged vessels meet minimum safety standards for operation, equipment, and construction. It was born after the sinking of the 1914 RMS Titanic.


List of Special Areas Under MARPOL

List of Special Areas under MARPOL is published under MEPC.1/Circ.778 dated 26 January 2012. The MARPOL Convention defines certain sea areas as “Special Areas” in which, for technical reasons relating to their oceanographical and ecological condition and to their sea traffic, the adoption of special mandatory methods for the prevention of sea pollution is required. Under the Convention, these Special Areas are provided with a higher level of protection than other sea areas. They are designated by IMO’s Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC) by amendments to the relevant MARPOL Annexes. There are such areas under MARPOL Annexes I, II, IV, and V. Under MARPOL Annex VI, such areas are called Emission Control Areas.


List of Particular Sensitive Sea Areas (PSSAs)

What is Particular Sensitive Sea Areas (PSSAs)? “Areas that need special protection through action by the IMO because of their significance for recongnized Ecological, Socio- economic or Scientific Attributes, where such attributes may be vulnerable to damage by international shipping activities.” The criteria for the identification of particularly sensitive sea areas and the criteria for …

List of Particular Sensitive Sea Areas (PSSAs) Read More »


GPS (Global Positioning System)- Definition, Requirement, Principle, Working, Errors Explained

Definition GPS is a satellite navigational system, funded and controlled by the US Department of Defence. GPS is a ground based satellite navigational system that provides location and time information in all weather condition and anywhere on the Earth. It was made by the US Government for their military use and later on it was …

GPS (Global Positioning System)- Definition, Requirement, Principle, Working, Errors Explained Read More »


MMD Mumbai | 2 MFG Oral Questions | 08 Aug 2019

Venue: DG Shipping External Surveyor: N/A Internal Surveyor: Capt Das Function II What do you understand by corrugated bulkheads with diagram Explain the procedure for preparations  of the hold before loading What is a strum box in bilge? What are the Brackets? What areas to be checked for cracks in the hold? IMDG contents and …

MMD Mumbai | 2 MFG Oral Questions | 08 Aug 2019 Read More »

Scroll to Top